For the first time in Pennsylvania, juveniles adjudicated of specified
sex offenses will have to register with the Pennsylvania State Police
sex offender registry, commonly known as the Megan’s Law registry.
On December 20, 2011 Governor Corbett signed a new law that will become
effective in December, 2012. The law, Act No. 2011-111, is known as the
Pennsylvania Adam Walsh Act or SORNA Legislation. It will have long lasting
implications on a child’s life and must be thoroughly understood
while navigating the juvenile court system (42 Pa. C.S.A. §9799.10 et seq.).
Who has to register?
Juveniles must register if they are
- - 14 years of age or older at the time the offense occurred
- - Are adjudicated delinquent for the charge of Rape, Involuntary Deviate
Sexual Intercourse, Aggravated Indecent Assault, or a conspiracy, attempt
or solicitation to any of the offenses.
- The individual is adjudicated on or after December 20, 2012
- - The juvenile is on court supervision (whether in placement or on probation)
after December 20, 2012 for any offense, and has been previously adjudicated
delinquent for one of the listed offenses.
How long must the juvenile register?
Registration is required for life. However, juvenile offenders who have
not been declared to be a “sexually violent delinquent child”
may be petition to be removed 25 years after the adjudication occurred.
This time period excludes any time spent in placement. In addition to
the 25 year requirement, the offender can have no subsequent convictions
for second degree misdemeanors or higher, or convictions for anything
punishable by imprisonment of a year or more. The individual must also
have successfully completed court-ordered supervision as well as a treatment
program for sexual offenders recognized by the court.